CEMApεdia:The new European Commission takes office

On 1 November, the new European Commission has started its 5-year mandate which is scheduled to run until 31 October 2019.

The team of 28 is led by the new President Jean-Claude Juncker and supported by 1 First Vice-President and 5 Vice-Presidents each of whom is tasked to guide the Commission's work in the main priority areas for the next years:

In addition, Federica Mogherini has been elected High Representative of the Union for Foreign & Security Policy. As such, she will be in charge of the External Action Service and external relations of the EU.

To find out more about the names and portfolios of the new Commissioners CLICK HERE


Newsletter issue: